Not this again…

I know that’s what any regular reader of this blog–or anyone who sits and listens to me talk about this for five minutes–is thinking, but I like to comment. A lot. So here goes.

When did it get to the point where I just don’t care what the NASA people say anymore? For something that I’m sure was a surprise to most or many of them, they sure seem to be behind it a lot, despite the layoffs, despite the now-wasted money, despite the complete restructuring of NASA’s new goals. I’m not saying there isn’t a lot to love about the new plan (except, as I’ve said before, the whole thing about the Moon), but there was just such an immediate “This is awesome!” cry from the NASA heads that I became immediately suspicious.

Of course, the people in Congress are fighting back–whatever I think of their reasons–but I don’t think they should be fighting the way they are. It would make more sense to argue for a change of goals, or (preferably) more stepping-stones from here to Mars which would leave a sustainable space infrastructure behind them, which would really require the same technological innovations (in-orbit refueling, better propulsion and protection, etc.) to be sustainable and inviting to civilians. More jobs, more goals, more technology, just MORE.

I guess that’s what it is, as always. I repeat myself, apparently endlessly: we aren’t doing enough, and this plan doesn’t get us there either. It’s a step in the right direction, but maybe a little too far to one side.

As a side note, anyone who doesn’t like going to an asteroid at some point (I think it’s only a logical step once we have a permanent presence on Mars, or thereabouts time-wise), read this article. It might change your mind.

Leave a Reply

